Home |  Imaging |   ]


From 1140 to 1266, ruled first by the Normans and then by the Swabians, it was an important city of the Kingdom, whose capital was Palermo.
In 1266 it became the capital with Angevin sovereigns, and then with the Aragonese dynasty.
For over two centuries, starting from 1503, it was the Spanish viceroyalty.
It was a very controversial period, characterized by rebellion episodes (such as Masaniello's rebellion in 1647) and by a brief Austrian rule from 1707 to 1734.
With Charles te Bourbon, Naples became again the capital of an independent reign.
Since then, except the intervals of the Parthenopean Republic (1799) and the socalled French decade, the Bourbon dynasty ruled until the Unity of Italy.


Site developer Marigen Tech.   Legal and Copyright ©